Saturday, July 9, 2011

NIA UPRIIS’ division chief awarded best irrigation manager for 2010

CABANATUAN CITY, Nueva Ecija, July 10, 2011-A multi-titled division manager of the National Irrigation Administration’s Upper Pampanga River Integrated Irrigation Systems, the operator of the giant Pantabangan Dam, has been adjudged as the most outstanding frontline irrigation manager for 2010 by an evaluation committee of the agency.

Josephine Salazar, UPRIIS division 3 manager, was conferred the prestigious award by Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala and NIA Administrator Antonio Nangel during awarding ceremonies at the agency’s central office in Quezon City during its 48th anniversary recently.

The Personnel Reward And Incentives System Evaluation committee chaired by senior deputy administrator Antonio Galvez cited Salazar for her “exemplary leadership” by taking the lead in achieving the highest record in physical and financial performance in the management and operation of UPRIIS Division 3 among the 49 irrigation management offices and national systems.

It added that her stewardship of the division resulted in water delivery, increased productivity and sustained corporate viability, contributing to the government’s food sufficiency program.

Division 3, which Salazar started managing in 2008, posted a net income of P40.42 million in 2010, from P32.8 million in 2009 and P14 million in 2008. For the first semester of 2011, it has posted a net income of P50 million.

Division 3 also posted a viability index of 2.24 percent, from 1.33 percent in 2008.

It was the second consecutive yearly award received by Salazar who, in 2009, also emerged as most outstanding irrigation management officer, best irrigation service fee (ISF) provider also in 2009, ISF top grosser for 2010 of P73.19 million, highest ISF back account collection for 2010 (P14.39 mllion).    

Salazar’s division was also given the best managed frontline irrigation service award. It was also recognized as most viable IMO for 2010 and best maintained division.

Also given citations as outstanding frontline irrigation managers of the year for 2010 were UPRIIS operations manager Reynaldo Puno, District 2 manager Joselito Mangunay and Division 5 manager Eugenio Conde Jr. (Jason de Asis)

Cebu prelate named CBCP president

MANILA, July 9, 2011- The Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines elected Cebu Archbishop Jose Palma as its President during the 103rd Plenary Assembly held at the Pope Pius XII Catholic Center this city.
According to the CBCP Statutes, Palma will take position as the new CBCP President on December 1, 2011. 
He will succeed Tandag Bishop Nereo P. Odchimar, who did not seek reelection.
Coming from the Archdiocese of Jaro in Iloilo, Palma was ordained to the priesthood on August 21, 1976 and named Auxiliary Bishop of Cebu on November 28, 1997. At age 47, he was ordained to the episcopacy and named bishop of the Diocese of Calbayog on January 13, 1999.
He became Archbishop of Palo on March 18, 2006 and later appointed Archbishop of Cebu on October 15, 2010.
Elected new CBCP Vice President is Lingayen-Dagupan Archbishop Socrates Villegas.
Dumaguete Bishop John Du was elected Treasurer succeeding Cubao Bishop Honesto F. Ongtioco.
The assembly also elected Msgr. Joselito Asis, then assistant secretary general and assistant treasurer, as Secretary General succeeding Msgr. Juanito Figura who will now return to the Archdiocese of Jaro. (CBCPNews)


Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this blog do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of "THE CATHOLIC MEDIA NETWORK NEWS ONLINE".

Should the Philippine government legalize same-sex marriage?